Soma Saito wins Best Voice Actor Award at 41st Animage Anime Grand Prix

The results to the 41st Animage Anime Grand Prix awards are out. Soma Saito once again takes home the Best Actor award, Yusuke Shirai and Shintaro Asanuma follow.

Anime Grand Prix is an annual prize decided by the votes of readers of the magazine Animage. The categories up for voting are the following: Anime of the Year, Best Voice Actor, Male and Female characters of the Year and Song of the Year.

Exhaustive results to all categories can be found on Animage’s August 2019 issue.

Best Voice Actor

According to Animage’s readers, the Best Voice Actor is, once again, Soma Saito.

Saito, 28, has had the last two years filled with buzzworthy projects. But not only were those projects buzzworthy, his characters are also incredibly popular and his popularity skyrocketed in return.

Saito made a buzz in 2018 – 2019 with his roles as Tenn Kujo (IDOLiSH7), Doppio (JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 5: Ougon no Kaze), Honda (Gaikotsu Shotenin Honda-san), Sho Utsumi (SSSS.GRIDMAN) and Kai Ichinose (Piano no Mori).

Saito got a total of 1080 points, over twice as much votes as last year’s edition.

Following close behind was Yusuke Shirai, 33, active in franchises such as IDOLiSH7 (as Yamato Nikaido, the group’s leader) and Hypnosis Mic (as Ramuda Amemura, Fling Posse’s leader).

Just like Saito, Shirai’s popularity skyrocketed thanks to work on the above mentioned two franchises. He got 445 votes.

In third place is Shintaro Asanuma, 43, with 298 points. His role as MAD TRIGGER CREW‘s fierce leader Samatoki Aohitsugi contributed to his high rank on this year’s voting.

Here’s the top 20 results:

  1. Soma Saito
  2. Yusuke Shirai
  3. Shintaro Asanuma
  4. Yukihiro Nozuyama
  5. Chiharu Sawashiro
  6. Yuki Kaji
  7. Yuma Uchida
  8. Mamoru Miyano
  9. Takahiro Sakurai
  10. Hiroshi Kamiya
  11. Subaru Kimura
  12. Takuya Eguchi
  13. Miyuki Sawashiro (same # of votes as Eguchi)
  14. Yuichi Nakamura (same # of votes as Eguchi)
  15. Yuki Aoi
  16. Jun Fukuyama
  17. Toru Furuya
  18. Daisuke Ono
  19. Tomoaki Maeno
  20. Toshiki Masuda (same # of votes as Maeno)

Only anime aired/premiered, songs released and voice actors active between 01/04/2018 and 31/03/2019 were eligible for voting.

Animage August 2019 is available for purchase at CDJAPAN.

Source: Animage August 2019

For media, PR, and business enquiries, please email me at:

Vanessa Silva
Vanessa Silva
The Hand That Feeds HQ founder, content creator, and music reviewer. Basically, the only person managing everything at The Hand That Feeds HQ. Stumbling upon Mamoru Miyano's "Orpheus" in 2011 was the start of this journey. If music is thought-provoking or deep, you may find her writing almost essays (not limited to, but it happens a lot with Soma Saito's music). She's the producer and host of the male seiyuu-centric podcast, SEIYUU LOUNGE (see Spotify link in this profile).

Related Articles

More articles