Monthly Review: Mamoru Miyano rocks the stage, XlamV is the 2D idol group to follow

https://youtu.be/hMShR4Cb5fk

Mamoru Miyano arrives as the big surprise in April 2023, experimenting a lot with “Quiet Explosion”, XlamV impresses with its debut single “From Me” and more.

The 15th episode of the new video feature on The Hand That Feeds HQ’s YouTube channel is out!

As the name says, Monthly Review is a monthly feature in which I find yet another excuse to talk about male seiyuu music and 2D groups.

This is a feature in which I get on camera covering the most impressive/buzzworthy releases in any given month – and hidden gems that not many people may end up paying attention to -, counting on your participation as well in all 4 corners:

  • Best of the month (3 best/buzzworthy/gems of every given month as picked by me + 3 suggested by THTFHQ readers
  • Monthly Choice (3 CD suggestions by me – regardless of when the CDs were released – and 3 suggestions by THTFHQ readers)
  • Music in the Horizon (a look at next month’s releases – it mixes my and your comments on upcoming releases by male seiyuu artists, bands, units or 2D groups)
  • Ask Vanessa (ask me anything about male seiyuu or 2D music, if don’t ask, it turns into a “Soma Saito” corner)

This month’s episode is all about the music released in April 2023.

April 2023 arrived to quench that thirst for quality music by some of the hottest – and most technical – singers among male seiyuu artists. Mamoru Miyano and Yuma Uchida brought really strong singles to the spotlight, making things interesting in April.

This was also a month of debuts, welcoming XlamV into the 2D idol mix however quickly showing that they are not just another group.

And standing out this month were:

  • Mamoru Miyano’s experimental “Quiet Explosion”,
  • Yuma Uchida’s dual charms in “Salt & Sugar”, and
  • XlamV’s stellar debut with “From Me”.

Unfortunately, aoppella!? 5 wasn’t reviewed because I still haven’t received the physical edition I purchased. I will talk about this CD in the May 2023 episode of MONTHLY REVIEW.

Mamoru Miyano “Quiet Explosion”

Mamoru Miyano "Quiet Explosion"

Mamoru Miyano’s “Quiet Explosion” did leave a deep mark on me, especially due to how innovative it wanted to be and how interesting it ended up being. 

From melodic performances to riveting drums or even downtempo R&B tunes, fans get a little bit of everything however, a new kind of everything that you will want to listen to more in future releases.

Yuma Uchida “Salt & Sugar”

Yuma Uchida "Salt & Sugar"
Regular edition

Yuma Uchida arrives with “Salt & Sugar”, a single that is all about songs with dual charms be it on the instrumentals or the performances.

While far from being Uchida’s best single released to date, “Salt & Sugar” is still an exciting entry that showcases his singing skills in the best light while trying its best to match those – insanely high – standards that Uchida has set for himself after a streak of flawless CD releases.

XlamV “From Me”

XlamV

XlamV wanted to impress and for sure they did with a song that follows the same quality standards as all songs released so far in the VS AMBIVALENZ franchise.

From Me” breaks away from most clichés for pop tunes by idol groups, avoiding a high-tension EDM tune – although it hints at it -, having a perfect vocal direction and mixing that highlights all vocals, giving them not only an equal number of lines but also making sure they always sound clean. 

It is all about its pure, clean singing on top a stellar composition that is daring enough to change keys midway and evolve in front of you.

Easily, one of the best songs released so far in 2023.

These and more thoughts/comments can be found in the almost 1-hour-ish episode that just dropped on the channel. Check the links on this article as well if you haven’t subscribed to the channel.


Please remember that these episodes are much more enjoyable with your insights. Every month I share a survey on social media for you to leave your impressions on new music.

Although only 3 people are chosen for each corner (less if there were fewer submissions), know I read them all. I read everything and keep being impressed by your musical sensibility!

THTFHQ’s community is filled with talented individuals, fans of good music, and voice acting. You geek as hard – or even more – about both things as I do!

Do you want to participate in MONTHLY REVIEW?

This show is a collaborative work between you and me, sharing our love for male seiyuu and 2D music projects. Don’t be shy to participate.

And don’t worry about not having perfect English writing or the sort, we all make mistakes and even I am not a native speaker – and typos are really my bread and butter here on the website – so don’t let that stop you from participating, should you want to!

As always, several times during the month, the survey to participate in next month’s episode is shared on THTFHQ’s social media (Facebook and Twitter) and on THTFHQ’s YouTube channel‘s community tab (make sure to subscribe to not miss the notification, or lurk if you don’t want to subscribe).

You can participate as many times as you want, I only ask that you avoid submitting the same answers in the various entries you make in this feature.

The goal is to feature as many CDs as possible, not to talk only about 1 or 2 CDs.


If the links are not working, CLICK HERE to check the video.

Vanessa Silva
Vanessa Silvahttps://www.handthatfeedshq.com
The Hand That Feeds HQ founder, content creator, and music reviewer. Basically, the only person managing everything at The Hand That Feeds HQ. Stumbling upon Mamoru Miyano's "Orpheus" in 2011 was the start of this journey. If music is thought-provoking or deep, you may find her writing almost essays (not limited to, but it happens a lot with Soma Saito's music). She's the producer and host of the male seiyuu-centric podcast, SEIYUU LOUNGE (see Spotify link in this profile).

Latest News

B-PROJECT Ryusei Fantasia | Nintendo Switch Review

The franchise is going to release a new game and, contrary to the first reports, it will also be available to play on smartphones.

Oricon Weekly | Ranmaru, Buster Bros!!! and more top this week’s charts

This article covers the 1st week of July, including singles and albums released between 01/07/2024 and 07/07/2024.

Oricon Weekly | Buster Bros!!!, BAE and more top this week’s charts

This article covers the 4th week of June, including singles and albums released between 24/06/2024 and 30/06/2024.

Out this Week | Ranmaru Kurosaki and Daisuke Namikawa

Quartet Night's members continue their solo best album series with Ranmaru and Daisuke Namikawa releases a new mini-album.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here
Captcha verification failed!
CAPTCHA user score failed. Please contact us!

Related posts

Support THTFHQspot_img