KATARI’s 1st full-length album “KAIKA” to be released to the public in 2022

The literature + lo-fi duo’s 1st album – released in October 2021 – gets a release to the general public right at the start of 2022.

開架 (KAIKA) is scheduled to be released on 30/01/2022, available through Animate International.

The tracklist is the following:

1 - 期に(はじめに)
2 - CN1-Y-HO("Yagi no Uta"/Chuuya Nakahara)
3 - AY1-Y-AY("Yume to Genjitsu”/Akiko Yosano)
4 - OD-1-HK("HUMAN LOST/Kakumei”/Osamu Dazai)
5 - MT1-A-SS("Akatsuki to Yuube no Uta“/Michizo Tachihara)
6 - JT1-S-TKS(“Shi no Fuchi Yori”/Jun Takami)
7 - KM1-A("Ame ni momakezu"/Kenji Miyazawa)
8 - JY1-A-KKO ("Aki no Hitomi"/Jukichi Yagi)
9 - HK1-J-KBS ("Jashuumon"/Hakushu Kitahara)

The highlight medley – originally released for the “event” version of this album – is out.

On another note:

This year, THTFHQ had the pleasure of interviewing KATARI about their passion project, music production, performances, literature, and lo-fi music. Make sure to check this awesome and exclusive interview HERE.


KATARI is a “musical literature” duo consisting of voice actor Shinichiro Kamio and composer Takehiro Mamiya (Yuyoyuppe aka DJ’TEKINA//SOMETHING).

Based in Tokyo, Japan, the duo combines Japanese “pure literature” with lo-fi, original music to create a powerful, unique new musical experience.

Kamio takes on the role of the narrative voice of each track—or the voice of the author himself or herself—and brings to life their words and worlds with his deep, clear voice, while Mamiya sets the tone for each narration with original musical creations that take listeners on an unforgettable journey.

KATARI features narrative tracks from famous Japanese literary figures such as Chuya Nakahara, Akiko Yosano, Kenji Miyazawa, and others. Their tracks have gained attention on social media sites as each new offering attracts draws in new fans to KATARI’s musical universe.

SOURCE: KATARI’s official Twitter account


Vanessa Silva
Vanessa Silvahttps://www.handthatfeedshq.com
The Hand That Feeds HQ founder, content creator, and music reviewer. Basically, the only person managing everything at The Hand That Feeds HQ. Stumbling upon Mamoru Miyano's "Orpheus" in 2011 was the start of this journey. If music is thought-provoking or deep, you may find her writing almost essays (not limited to, but it happens a lot with Soma Saito's music). She's the producer and host of the male seiyuu-centric podcast, SEIYUU LOUNGE (see Spotify link in this profile).


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Related Articles

More articles