KATARI to release 1st full-length album “KAIKA” in October

The literature + lo-fi duo is set to release their first album, including fan favorites as well as new tracks.

KATARI’s 1st full-length album is titled 開架 (KAIKA) and is scheduled to hit stores on 31/10/2021.

The tentative tracklist is the following:

1 - 期に(はじめに)
2 - CN1-Y-HO("Yagi no Uta"/Chuuya Nakahara)
3 - AY1-Y-AY("Yume to Genjitsu”/Akiko Yosano)
4 - OD-1-HK("HUMAN LOST/Kakumei”/Osamu Dazai)
5 - MT1-A-SS("Akatsuki to Yuube no Uta“/Michizo Tachihara)
6 - JT1-S-TKS(“Shi no Fuchi Yori”/Jun Takami)
7 - KM1-A("Ame ni momakezu"/Kenji Miyazawa)
8 - ????? 
9 - ?????

More details on this album are going to be unveiled in the upcoming months.

On another note:

Recently, THTFHQ had the pleasure of interviewing KATARI about their passion project, music production, performances, literature, and lo-fi music. Make sure to check this awesome and exclusive interview HERE.

KATARI recently held its first live show. The YouTube Live stream is available to watch HERE.


KATARI is a “musical literature” duo consisting of voice actor Shinichiro Kamio and composer Takehiro Mamiya (Yuyoyuppe aka DJ’TEKINA//SOMETHING).

Based in Tokyo, Japan, the duo combines Japanese “pure literature” with lo-fi, original music to create a powerful, unique new musical experience.

Kamio takes on the role of the narrative voice of each track—or the voice of the author himself or herself—and brings to life their words and worlds with his deep, clear voice, while Mamiya sets the tone for each narration with original musical creations that take listeners on an unforgettable journey.

KATARI features narrative tracks from famous Japanese literary figures such as Chuya Nakahara, Akiko Yosano, Kenji Miyazawa, and others. Their tracks have gained attention on social media sites as each new offering attracts draws in new fans to KATARI’s musical universe.

SOURCE: KATARI’s official Twitter account


Vanessa Silvahttps://www.handthatfeedshq.com
The Hand That Feeds HQ founder and music reviewer writing about Japanese music since 2010. Also, the only person managing everything The Hand That Feeds HQ related. In 2011, I stumbled upon Mamoru Miyano's "Orpheus". Since then I have been writing about male seiyuu music. You may find me writing almost essays whenever music is really good (not limited to, but it happens a lot with Soma Saito's music). I also host the male seiyuu-centric podcast, SEIYUU LOUNGE (see Spotify link in this profile).





You might also like...